top of page

Mikel K - Three Poems

Please allow me to introduce myself

I'm the leader

of the band

the lead singer

running about the stage

like Mick or Axl

but I have learned

from being in a band , or two

that no one comes to see you

and that it is scary

being up on that stage

bleeding your heart out

to twelve drunk men and women

in a room full of cigarette smoke.

*

Charles Bukowski never bought me a drink

He's a mean old ugly bartender

but he'll cut you off

before he's got to throw you out.

He gives you just the right amount

of whiskey or long island teas

to make you feel good

and not send you into a blackout.

He'll take your keys

and call you a cab

before he'll let you get a dui.

Why wasn't this imaginary guy

pouring my drinks

back when I used to blackout?

*

I Need A Rich Girl

I need a rich girl

to drive my deceased car

to the unemployment line,

so that I can get food stamps,

and avoid a job.

I need a pill that will fill me up,

not with envy.

I need a pill that will make me

feel friendly, not want to kill

I need a friend

in these united states of isolation,

where even hell's angels are afraid

to hitchhike,

where thinking outside the norm

could land you in jail.

I need a reason to go on living,

and I think that my children will do.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page